Six Distinguished Women to be Inducted into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame

BALTIMORE – (February 13, 2012) The Maryland Commission for Women will induct six accomplished women into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame on Wednesday, March 7, 2012 from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. during a ceremony in the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis.

The Women’s Hall of Fame honors Maryland women who have made unique and lasting contributions to the economic, political, cultural and social life of the state, and who provide visible models of achievement for tomorrow’s female leaders.  Please see a brief bio of the 2012inductees below.

Alice Manicur is an educator and has served as Frostburg State University’s chief student affairs officer for 46 years, initiating many ground-breaking services and programs.

Diana Gribbon Motz is the first Maryland woman appointed to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit and only the second woman in the court’s 150-year history.

Gwendolyn Rooks is the founder of the after school AKAdemy that offers an arts-based program to middle school girls to help improve school performance and provide a safe environment after school.

Margaret Dunkle is an author, activist, and an unsung heroine of Title IX, the 1972 landmark legislation that prohibits sex discrimination in schools and colleges receiv­ing federal funding.

Maureen Black is the John A. Scholl MD and Mary Louise Scholl MD Endowed Professor in the Department of Pediatrics and the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.  She is also the  founder/director of the Growth and Nutrition Clinic, a multidisciplinary clinic that provides services to children with poor growth and feeding problems.


Nancy Kopp is the 23rd Maryland State Treasurer since the adoption of the Constitution of 185l. She is the second woman ever to serve as Maryland’s State Treasurer and is the only woman serving Maryland in  a Constitutional Office.


MarylandCommission for Women

Maryland Department of Human Resources

Women Legislators ofMaryland

Friends of theMarylandCommission for Women



2012 Annual Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony


Thursday, March 7, 2012,   5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.


Miller Senate Office Building

President’s Conference Room – West

11 Bladen Street

Annapolis, Maryland


Filed in: DHS News, Women's Commission

Recent Posts


© DHS News. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.