Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of Maryland seek nominees for the 2012 Women’s Hall of Fame

Award honors women who have made a lasting impact on Maryland society

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND (August 24, 2011) – Today, the Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of Maryland announced that they are seeking nominees for induction into the 2012
Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame. Established in 1985, the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame honors historical and contemporary women who have made unique and lasting contributions to Maryland’s economic, political, cultural, and social life.

“I am so proud that we can celebrate the accomplishments of remarkable women in the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame,” said First Lady Katie O’Malley.  “From mothers to mayors, Maryland is filled with talented and
skilled women who dedicate their lives to make lasting contributions to our State. With their impact, these women can help build up the dreams of our children who will learn from them that nothing is ever impossible if
you work hard for a better future.”

“Each year, the Maryland Commission for Women honors six remarkable women who have dedicated their lives to something greater than themselves,” said Susan Elgin, commission chairperson. “Though they come from diverse backgrounds, these women have each made a unique and enduring impact on our state’s character.”

For the past 26-years, the Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of Maryland have sought to recognize exceptional Maryland women who—through their hard work, perseverance, and
achievement—have made a mark on their their community and state. Each year, the Commission seeks nominations directly from Maryland citizens, businesses, non-profits and civic organizations. The nominations
are then reviewed by an independent committee, which ultimately recommends six extraordinary women for induction into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame based on their achievements in the arts, athletics, business, education, government, the humanities, philanthropy, or science.

“In these difficult times—when so many Maryland families are struggling just to make ends meet—women across Maryland are doing extraordinary work and making a real difference in their communities,” said Theodore Dallas, secretary of the Maryland Department of Human Resources. “I hope every Marylander will take a moment and nominate that exceptional she-roe in their community.”

In 2011, the following women were inducted into the Hall of Fame:
• Lucy Diggs Slowe, the first Dean of Women at Howard University;
• Carol W. Greider, Ph.D., a Nobel Prize winner in Physiology or Medicine;
• Barbara Holdridge, cofounder of Caedmon Records and the initiator in spoken-word recordings;
• Dr. Ligia Peralta, a pioneer in the fight to stem the HIV epidemic among young people; and
• Gertrude L. Poe, “Maryland’s First Lady of Journalism;” and June A. Willenz, a global human rights advocate.

For more information, visit the Maryland Department of Human Resources at www.dhr.state.md.us/mcw/.  Nominations must be postmarked, or submitted online, no later than Friday, October 21, 2011 to the Maryland Commission for Woman: 311 West Saratoga Street, Suite 272, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

Filed in: Women's Commission

Recent Posts



One Response to "Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of Maryland seek nominees for the 2012 Women’s Hall of Fame"

  1. Jennifer Smith says:

    This is a great idea but I hope that this year more “normal” women are nominated. Being the Dean of a University or a Nobel Peace Prize winner is a fabulous achievement for any woman but there are so many “regular” women who make a difference every day not only to the lives of their families but to their communities as well. Single moms who juggle work and raising kids, matriarchs of families who have suffered financially during the last few years and other “ordinary” women – these ladies are people I think we should consider “she-roes” and honor as such.

© DHS News. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.