Comments Off on Maryland Commission for Women Host Annual Women’s Hall of Fame Induction

Maryland Commission for Women Host Annual Women’s Hall of Fame Induction

Media contact: Brian Schleter 443-253-4204


The Maryland Commission for Women Host Annual Women’s Hall of Fame Induction


BALTIMORE – (March 11, 2013) The Maryland Commission for Women, during a ceremony in the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis on Thursday, March 21, 2013 from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., will induct six accomplished women into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame.  A reception at Government House hosted by Governor and First Lady O’Malley will immediately follow the induction ceremony.

The annual event honors Maryland women who have made unique and lasting contributions to the economic, political, cultural and social life of the state, and who are visible role models of achievement for tomorrow’s female leaders.  The Hall of Fame is housed in the Women’s Heritage Center in Baltimore City.

The 2013 inductees are:

Helen Delich Bentley:

Helen Delich Bent­ley is President and CEO of Helen Bentley & Associ­ates, Inc., which provides marketing, consulting and gov­ernment relations services.  Ms. Bentley also serves as a consul­tant to the Mary­land Port Adminis­tration.


Jean B. Cryor (Posthumously)

Jean B.Cryor served 12 years in the Maryland House of Delegates. A fearless and indefatigable advocate for women and the disadvantaged, she won a reputation as a consensus builder and champion around pay equity issues.


Dr. Charlene Mickens Dukes

Dr. Charlene Mick­ens Dukes is the first female president of Prince George’s Communi­ty College (PGCC).  She has been recognized by The Washingtonian as one of the “100 Most Powerful Women” in the Washington DC region.


Ellen R. Sauerbrey

Ellen Sauerbrey has been an educator, legislator and diplo­mat having served 16 years as a member of the House of Delegates – eight of those years as the House Minority Leader.


Linda A. Shevitz

Linda A. Pollack Shevitz is a national leader in the areas of gender equity, women’s history, multicultural edu­cation, and social justice.


Beatrice Tignor, Ed.D.

Beatrice Tignor is a Municipal Liaison for County Executive Rushern Baker, and was a Maryland State Senator who also served in the House of Delegates.  In addition, she

served as the Prince George’s County Chair of the “Appointed” School Board.


Maryland Commission for Women

Maryland Department of Human Resources

Women Legislators of Maryland

Friends of the Maryland Commission for Women



2013 Annual Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony


Thursday, March 21, 2013 – 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.


Miller Senate Office Building

President’s Conference Room – West

11 Bladen Street

Annapolis, Maryland

The Maryland Department of Human Resources (DHR) is the state’s primary social service provider serving over one million people annually.   DHR, through its 24 local departments of social services, aggressively pursues opportunities to assist people in economic need, provide preventive services, and protect vulnerable children and adults in each of Maryland’s 24 counties.


Filed in: DHS News, Women's Commission

Recent Posts


© DHS News. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.